Good Things Come in Eighty-Eights: My Latest & Greatest Japanese Odyssey

Featured Image -- 6658A look back on my South Alps trek over a decade ago (scanned film).Mountain Meditation in the South Alps (scanned film).Helicopter departing after delivering supplies to a mountain hut, Hakuba, North Alps (scanned film).High peaks near Kita Dake, South Alps (scanned film).CORAJOSA

The Goat that Wrote

Konnichiwa from Nippon, folks!

I’m tapping this on my laptop, via some sweet Japanese wifi technology, from a table in my favourite Starbucks, right next to the park in Kichijoji, Tokyo. I got in to Narita last night on a half-empty flight via Cairns, and crashed in an airport hotel room smaller than my bedroom at home.

Dinner was omu rice, some inari zushi, a “steam cake” and a big-ass can of Sapporo beer, in one hit checking four favourite konbini (convenience store) culinary delights on my to-eat list.

I’m here for 88 days — nope, not in this Starbucks; that would be excessive. In Japan, I mean. I wanted to make the most of my 90-day tourist visa, and I’m covering a fair bit of ground, old and new, revisiting some favourite old haunts and walking some new paths.

Let me backtrack, briefly.

My American plans have…

Ver o post original 1.123 mais palavras